Quick Links

Quick Links

Back to top

Beattock and Moffat Academy Cluster

Curriculum for Excellence

Curriculum for Excellence (CfE) is bringing learning to life in the way education is delivered for all 3-18year olds – in nursery, primary, secondary, at college, workplace or community learning. It aims to raise standards, improve knowledge and develop skills, closing the gap between the lowest and highest performers. Ultimately it aims to nurture children and young people as successful learners, confident individuals, effective contributors and responsible citizens. 

How does Curriculum for Excellence work?

Curriculum for Excellence includes four contexts for learning:-

  • Curriculum areas and subjects
  • Interdisciplinary learning
  • Ethos and life of the school
  • Opportunities for personal achievement

Curriculum levels and stages:-

  • The curriculum has two stages: the broad general education (from the early years to the end of S3) and the senior phase (S4 to S6).
  • The broad general education has five levels (early, first,  second, third and fourth). The senior phase is designed to build on the experiences and outcomes of the broad general education, and to allow young people to take qualifications and courses that suit their abilities and interests